Important Hills of India: Northern, Eastern & Southern Map

India is a country with many different types of landscapes and beautiful places. One of the things that make it special is the stunning hills of India, which can be found in different parts of the country. In the north, there are the majestic Himalayas, while in the south, you can find the lush Western Ghats. There are also picturesque mountain ranges in the east and west.

In this article, we will take a virtual journey to explore these hills of India along with Map, one region at a time. We will discover what makes each region unique and why travelers should visit to experience their beauty.

What is Hill?

A hill is a landform that rises above the surrounding terrain, typically characterized by a rounded or elongated summit and slopes that are less steep than those of mountains. Further, hills are formed through various geological processes, including tectonic uplift, erosion, or volcanic activity. They are generally lower in elevation compared to mountains and often offer scenic views of the surrounding landscape.

Also Read: Mountain Ranges of India

Important Hills of India

In order to understand the hills of India more easily, we have divided them by region and provided a map for visual reference. By categorizing the hills based on their respective regions and providing a map, we aim to provide a clearer picture of the unique characteristics and attractions that each region has to offer. This visual aid will help you navigate through the hills of India and understand their geographic distribution across the country.

We have divided the hills of India into four regions:

  1. Northern Region
  2. North-East Region
  3. Central Region
  4. Southern Region

1. Northern Region

The northern region of India is home to one of the most iconic and breathtaking mountain ranges in the world, the Himalayas. Spanning several states, the hills of the northern region offer a blend of natural grandeur, adventure, and spirituality. Now, let’s take a closer look at some of the incredible hills in this part of India.

  • Pir Panjal Range
  • Zanskar Range
  • Dhauladhar Range
  • Garhwal Himalayas
  • Kumaon Himalayas
  • Shivalik Hills
  • Aravalli Range
Jammu and KashmirPir Panjal Range, Zanskar Range
Himachal PradeshDhauladhar Range, Pir Panjal Range
UttarakhandGarhwal Himalayas, Kumaon Himalayas
PunjabShivalik Hills
RajasthanAravalli Range
Uttar PradeshShivalik Hills, Kumaon Himalayas, Garhwal Himalayas
Hill Ranges of Northern Region of India

2. North-East Region

The North-East region of India is a treasure trove of natural beauty, characterized by its lush green hills, mist-covered mountains, and vibrant cultural heritage. This region comprises eight states, each with its own unique hill destinations that captivate travelers with their enchanting landscapes and rich biodiversity.

The region is also home to several national parks and wildlife sanctuaries, preserving the rich flora and fauna found in these hills. Let’s explore the hills of the North-East region:

  • Khasi
  • Jantia
  • Garo
  • Mishmi
  • Patkai Bum
  • Naga Hilla
Arunachal PradeshEastern Himalayas, Mishmi Hills, Patkai Hills
AssamKarbi Hills, North Cachar Hills
ManipurManipur Hills, Barak Valley Hills
MeghalayaKhasi Hills, Garo Hills, Jaintia
MizoramLushai Hills, Murlen National Park
NagalandNaga Hills, Dzükou Valley
SikkimEastern Himalayas, Singalila Range
TripuraJampui Hills, Longtharai Hills
Hills of the North-East Region of India

3. Central Region

The central region of India is characterized by its rugged and scenic landscapes, featuring several hill ranges that add to the region’s natural beauty. Let’s explore the hills of the central region:

  • Satpura Range
  • Vindhya Range
  • Shivalik Hills
  • Kumaon Himalayas
  • Garhwal Himalayas
  • Maikal Hills
  • Aravalli Range
Madhya PradeshSatpura Range, Vindhya Range
Uttar PradeshShivalik Hills, Kumaon Himalayas, Garhwal Himalayas
ChhattisgarhMaikal Hills
RajasthanAravalli Range
Hills of the Central Region of India

4. Southern Region

The southern region of India is known for its lush greenery, tropical landscapes, and enchanting hill stations. Let’s discover the hills of the southern region:

  • Western Ghats
  • Eastern Ghats
  • Nilgiri Hills
  • Palani Hills
  • Anamalai Hills
  • Tirumalai
  • Anamudi
StateHill Ranges
KarnatakaWestern Ghats, Biligiriranga Hills
KeralaWestern Ghats, Anamudi Hills
Tamil NaduNilgiri Hills, Palani Hills, Anamalai Hills
Andhra PradeshEastern Ghats, Tirumala Hills
TelanganaDeccan Plateau
Hills of Southern India


India is home to magnificent hills in different regions, such as the Himalayas in the north and the Western Ghats in the south. These hills offer diverse landscapes, cultural richness, and adventure opportunities.

Whether you seek snowy peaks, lush valleys, or vibrant flora and fauna, India’s hills have it all. Explore charming hill stations, engage in outdoor activities, and immerse yourself in the unique local cultures. Discover the enchanting beauty of India’s hills and create unforgettable memories.

Thank You!

5/5 - (4 votes)

Vikramjit Singh, founder of Newscoop, an esteemed UPSC educational website, helps aspirants prepare for UPSC CSE with 5 years of experience, offering a deep understanding of crucial concepts.

Leave a Reply